Maybelline Color Show, Limited Editions, Avante Green and Auburn Ablaze

This one was another that I promised to show! Getting pretty good on keeping my word huh? Anyways I’ve recently been on a no buy and decided stepping into the stores was a bad idea. I did very good for over a month and then decided I should see what kind of displays are up. And lo- and behold there was a Maybelline Color Show LIMITED EDITION display! I pretty much wanted all of them, but decided Avante Green was my #1 must have of all of them and for SOME REASON I’m not sure why- I bought Auburn Ablaze instead. So I kept thinking about Avante Green dreading that I made a mistake. I had to wait a whole week before I could go back and the display was GONE! But I go to Walgreens quite often and knew that the left overs from displays are on the counter by the register in the beauty department and was over joyed to see the last bottle sitting there. Like it was waiting for me. Psychotic,  I know. Anyways enough babble.

Maybelline Color Show- Avante Green

Maybelline Avante Green is in 3 coats, and probably could have used another one…maybe two.  It’s very thin but not a super runny formula its almost painful to work with however. If you have a good base color to go underneath- go for it. I’m sadly disappointed that this didn’t have any real color shift (kinda blue-ish) to it outside of the bottle. What can I say? Lesson learned.

 

Maybelline Color Show- Auburn Ablaze

Maybelline Auburn Ablaze is in 2 coats. This ended up being a big win for me. I don’t have a lot of colors like this (none since I try to keep my collection simple) but this picture is bringing out a lot more of its wine colored hidden shimmer. In indoor lighting this is a bit more brown with the shimmer leaning a tiny bit more towards purple. Dry time is pretty good- my first coat was thin and my second was thicker then it needed to be-  I could have gotten away with it being thinner and still full coverage (and dry a bit faster, too).

P.S. Sorry about the sloppy slop paint job! I try to do it right the first time, if I can’t I try to at least clean up after myself. Children needed attention so I took a picture before I scuffed them, and I really did ding them bad afterwards.

So far I’m pleased with the polishes that Maybelline keeps coming out with- whether its core line or limited edition like these two. It’s brands like these that make me afraid to waste money trying a new brand I’m not sure I will like!

Posted on Mon, 29Oct 2012, in Brown, Green, Maybelline, Nail Polish & Nail Art, Shifting Multi Color/ Multi Chrome and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

