Daily Archives: Mon, 13Feb 2012

Band wagon…Are you on it??

Hello there!

Do any of you follow the nail trends? A lot of you I’m sure are “crackled” out. I myself am still fascinated with it! But that’s not actually the trend I want to talk about. XD There’s actually 2 others on my mind at the moment.

1st being FLAKIES! Now if you haven’t picked it up by now- I love glitter. Being in MT sucks when you’re trying to get your hands on specific brands such as Finger Paints. Love their special effects polish! I would be so happy to own “Twisted”.  The one and only flaky I have is Essie’s “Shine of The Times”. Quite awesome I think. I don’t own SH original limited edition “Hidden Treasure” but I’ve heard that Shine of The Times is a much denser version of that.

This is Essie Shine of the times over:

Sally Hansen- White On & Black Out

Sinful Colors “Nirvana”  (which is a brown but you probably can’t tell!)

Sinful Colors “Happy Ending”  *green

Wet n’ Wild Wild Shine “Blue Moon”

Kleancolor “Barbie Pink”

Pure Ice “No Means No” *purple

Isn’t that freaking awesome?? Do any of you own this or any other flakies?

So now for the 2nd trend, I don’t own it yet! I’m on the war path for it and its hard to find here. It’s the magnetic polish! It’s an iron filled polish that when a “special” magnet (usually on the cap of the bottle) is held over it it creates a design- usually stripes. I do believe it isn’t way new but for me its only just now becoming available locally. Yes I could buy it online but I’m very leery about spending $12+ for a bottle of nail polish! Icing has come up with their own! So sometime this week I’ll be wiggling my butt into Claire’s (yes, wiggling) because not only are they sister stores with Icing- their nail polishes are exactly the same. Now our mall doesn’t have the Icing store (which btw their “magnetix” is CHEAPER) so I’m going with second best. I’ve also read from many many other nail polish blogs that the magnet for these seem to work better then a few others. I’ve heard that the China Glaze magnet is a big disappointment which is even sadder because they made it U shaped with several designs which I thought was creative. But I think it’s one of the brands that you have to buy it seperate. Maybe there is a few other but none come to mind at the moment. Really quick before I forget- go here if you want a really good FAQ from someone that has actually had the chance to play around with this type of polish in different kinds of brands. Back to about the Icing brand they have for colors with no names that are gold, gunmetal, pink and blue. The pink and blue have a “wavy” design and the other two have straight lines, both with the option to turn the magnet. I guess you wouldn’t really have to use the guides anyway if you were wanting to be extra creative.

So besides the Icing/Claire’s Magnetix, I think Lancôme Vernis Magnétic is awesome because the magnet is attached to the bottle itself on the outside and it makes a star bust design! :O But I’m not sure it’s worth$15.50. maybe if I feel like treating myself for my birthday. 😛

But yea if you’re interested the brands that I know of that are doing this at the moment are nails, inc. (found at sephora) Layla, Lancôme, China Glaze “Magnetix”, Icing/Claire’s “Magnetix” and LCN (which I never heard of before). Thepolishaholic just recently feature a magnetic from You Mix Cosemetics.

Sorry about the length of this post. I could honestly go on all day!