OPI Pirouette My Whistle, Skittles Swatch Part 1

So when I first saw OPI’s  New York City Ballet Soft Shades, I didn’t feel like  it looked like anything I would want. After seeing lots of other bloggers do swatches of the entire lineup there was one that I knew I really wanted. A glitter of course, Pirouette My Whistle!

I did this as a “skittles” swatch because I find it fun to see how some polishes can be very versatile. I also do it this way when I just buy it and I want to try it over everything!!! Sorry the colors aren’t really themed or corresponding, I just grabbed what I thought would be neat under it.

I usually sum up the polish after some pictures but I’m doing it before this time because there are a lot of pictures and I’ve got a bit to say about the colors themselves. In this post I have it on its own and on 4 color polishes.

Pirouette My Whistle(PMW) is in 2 coats  on all nails even on its own with Sally Hansen Insta Dri Topcoat. You could probably skip topcoat. It has a white almost pearl like hexagon glitter with a very fine silver glitter in a clearish base that seems a teensy bit milky in the bottle but doesn’t  translate to the nail that way. The silver glitters have great even coverage of course, not sparse at all. The white glitter on the other hand doesn’t always want to go on. I think that’s mostly due to the base being a little tiny bit runny(which isn’t bad in this case), but its good enough that swiping it over again a few times gives it good result and it isn’t super gloppy. They settle done well and don’t always pull themselves off with each stroke. I think it’s meant to be sparse, but I personally like a little more. I love this polish though! And as with 99% of glitter polish, this is a PAIN to remove.

OPI Pirouette My Whistle

OPI Pirouette My Whistle

No top coat in this picture.

OPI Pirouette My Whistle over Wet n' Wild Black Creme

OPI PMW on amazingly 1 coat of Wet n’ Wild Black Creme. It was one flawless coast, need I say more?

OPI Pirouette My Whistle over Sinful Colors Unicorn

Sinful Colors Unicorn was 3-4 very frustrating coats. It takes forever to dry. I wanted to scream and break it because it balds badly. Stains like a you wouldn’t believe. Last time I used it was for the rainbow mani, over a white base so I didn’t notice last time.

OPI Pirouette My Whistle over Kleancolors Sheer Pastel Nude

3 coats of Kleancolors Sheer Pastel Nude. I would have left it at 2 but it really is sheer and I thought without the third, there’d be no difference between it and PMW on it’s own.

OPI Pirouette My Whistle over Wet n' Wild On A Trip

WnW On A Trip is 3 coats. Dries fairly quick. Its from the Megalast collection that has the new “ManiCurve Pro Brush”. Very nice brush btw! One stroke for the pinky every time.

This is all on my left hand and part 2 will be on my right! Stay tuned….

Posted on Wed, 25Apr 2012, in Black, Glitter, Kleancolor, Nail Polish & Nail Art, Nude, OPI, Purple, Sinful Colors, Wet n Wild, Yellow and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

